Questions about the Chapter Approved Mission Deck will be reviewed periodically and answered below.
Q: If a unit that is part of an Attached unit is destroyed, and that Attached unit was performing an Action, can the remaining unit(s) in that Attached unit still complete that Action? A: Yes.
Q: If my opponent selects an Attached unit for the Marked for Death Secondary Mission, which units forming that Attached unit must I destroy to score VP? A: To score VP, you must destroy the Bodyguard unit and at least one of the Leader units that was attached to it. For example, if your opponent selects a unit of Boyz led by a Warboss and a Weirdboy, and you destroy that Boyz unit so that the Warboss and Weirdboy each become individual units, you must also destroy either that Warboss or that Weirdboy (or one of them must be removed from the battlefield for any other reason) to score VP from Marked for Death.
Q: When selecting units for the Marked for Death Secondary Mission, can I select a Leader within an Attached unit? A: No.
Q: When performing the Terraform Action, can I terraform an objective marker my opponent has already terraformed? A: Yes.
Q: In the Burden of Trust Primary Mission, how many times can each player score VP for guarding an objective marker they control? A. The player going first can score VP for guarding an objective marker they control at the end of their opponent’s first, second, third, fourth and fifth turn. The player going second can score VP for guarding an objective marker they control at the end of their opponent’s second, third, fourth and fifth turn.
Q: When setting up objective markers as part of step 4 of the Chapter Approved Tournament Mission Sequence, or setting up a new objective marker as part of a Primary Mission (such as The Ritual), do I measure from/to the centre or the edge of the objective marker? A: In all of these instances, you measure from the centre of the objective marker. This also includes the central objective marker in the Search and Destroy deployment map when measuring the boundaries of the deployment zones.
Q. To start performing the Sabotage Action, does it require both the terrain feature and your unit to not be within your deployment zone? Or is it just your unit that must not be within your deployment zone? A: Only your unit must not be within your deployment zone to start performing the Sabotage Action.
Q: In Burden of Trust, can you guard objective markers in your own deployment zone? A: Yes.
Q: If I Terraform an objective in my opponent’s deployment zone, can my opponent Terraform that objective back?
A: No, as a player can’t perform the Terraform action on an objective marker within their deployment zone.
Q: If I complete the Terraform action on an objective that was Terraformed by my opponent, is the objective now Terraformed by me?
A: Yes.
Q: For Primary and Secondary Missions that award VP for destroying Character models or units, if those models or units are returned to the battlefield and then subsequently destroyed again, will such Primary and Secondary Missions award VP for them being destroyed again? A: Yes, unless that Primary or Secondary Mission specifies otherwise.
Q: For the purposes of the Mission Pack, are there any amendments to the Core Rules regarding how Ruins affect charging units and which models can fight? A: No. This means models can be positioned to make it difficult to charge directly through sections of terrain features into combat, as models can’t end their Charge move where any part of their model or base would be within sections of those terrain features (e.g. a solid Ruins wall). This may mean the result of a Charge roll needs to be greater to allow a unit to make a Charge move that ends within Engagement Range and not within any sections of those terrain features, while still following all other conditions of charging.
Designer’s Note: Organisers, if your terrain collection includes large enclosed structures that units would be able to move within, but may render ending a Charge move within Engagement Range of those units within that terrain impossible, you may wish to include additional clarification for your particular terrain elements within your event packs to avoid uninteractive situations.
Q: If I destroy the Bodyguard unit of an Attached unit that meets the criteria for Cull the Horde (Starting Strength of 13+), but the Leader unit survives, do I score the VP for destroying the Bodyguard unit? A: If the Bodyguard unit would have had a Starting Strength of 13+ had it not been part of an Attached unit, then yes. Otherwise, no.
Example: If you destroy a unit of 16 Accursed Cultists, but their Cultist Firebrand Leader survives, you score the VP for that unit. If you destroy a 10-strong Cultist Mob, but don’t destroy the Dark Commune attached to them, you do not score the VP for that unit.